#PaintSeptember 4

Today has been busy in the gallery, but I knew what I had planned for my students tonight, so knew I would complete a demonstration painting.

I always use a fresh inspiration when demonstrating not something I had practised many times. I think that those watching should see you make mistakes and then correct them, they then know corrections can be made.

Image

I chose this subject because of the strong contrast between dark & light, the different textures requiring different brush marks and the need to use different size marks to create distance within the painting, The source material was a photograph taken earlier in the summer at The Exotic Garden in Norwich.

Taking a photo with my phone isn’t best the tones have been evened out and the variety of greens have been lost. But day 4 & I’m still there.

Leave a Reply

