03/28 Back where it all started…..

Way back in 2003 our friend Dona said she thought we might like a “Scruffy little town in the South of France at the end of the Canal du Midi; Marseillan. After our trip that June we returned to England and she was quite worried we would be disappointed, but we had fallen in love with that scruffy little town and the people who live there. We have been back every year since, some years 4/5 times; no tell a lie I missed 2013, but Paul went so that counts??

Tuesday is market day in Marseillan; Kath and Dona were visiting from Norfolk,  we met them for coffee and added a glass of rosé, they went off for lunch and Paul & I sat on the port in the sun (21℃) had Le Menu du jour and returned to the house.

I decided to use my pastels this afternoon, Unison soft pastels because they are full of pigment with no gritty bits and using Canson Mi teintes touch you can be quite accurate with your marks. I layered my pastel like an oil, dark to light; the mi teintes touch will take many layers of pigment. You may also wet it to release the pigment if you wish, I didn’t this time and I didn’t want to be too tight either.

On Sunday I painted the view from the back of 3 Oliviers this afternoon I stood on the front veranda outside the kitchen looking at Castelnau de Guers village, the chateau is really impressive and tho’ we had been through the village many times I hadn’t really been aware of it before.

Castelnau de Guers  Herault, France 29.7x42cm Soft Pastel (Unison)/ Mi Teintes Touch
Castelnau de Guers
Herault, France
29.7x42cm
Soft Pastel (Unison)/
Mi Teintes Touch

When I started the sun was still quite strong but as the hour passed it had lost its heat, its that time of year the earth is heating up and the evenings are still cool, but the sun we had today definitely topped my batteries up.

5 thoughts on “03/28 Back where it all started…..

Leave a Reply

