Winter Light Barcelona –

I have a few favourite cities in the world and there are many more that I have not visited, but very near the top of the list is Barcelona – I have visited about five times each time a voyage of discovery.

Three years ago (can’t believe its been so long) I took a trip just me and my paints found a fantastic deal on a hotel on La Rambla, right in the centre of all the action but tucked away at the back so I slept well in comfort.

One morning I went out for breakfast and as I was meandering along Carrer de Ferran I looked left  into the archway to Placa Reial, and in the low January sun there was a man carrying a huge bunch of yellow Chrysanthemum, the light was amazing it was a magical moment.

The restaurants were not yet open and there was no one else in my view, were they a Thank you or had he been naughty and they were a sorry or were they for the tables of a restaurant? Make your own story I always do.

I started the painting “Winter Light Barcelona” in the studio, quite a while ago, from the quick photo I took at the time and sketches I made from the photograph.

Something happened that upset my equilibrium and I put the unfinished painting to one side in my studio.

"Winter Light Barcelona"
“Winter Light Barcelona” 60x80cm Oil on Linen £795.00

I pulled the canvas out this afternoon started to finish this piece, it still needs a little attention and I will look at it again tomorrow.

But I am pleased with the light quality, and it took me back to a place I need to visit again.

If you are interested in buying any of my paintings please e mail me and I will invoice you so you can pay on line

Leave a Reply

