No Painting Tuesday……

Drove to Montpellier on Tuesday, mainly to pick up my watch from the menders (French watch, still in guarantee). It was the Christmas market  on Allee Jean de Latte de Tassigny off of Place de Comedie lovely stalls and despite Ryan Air baggage allowance managed a couple of small present purchases, a vin chaud was consumed.

Christmas music was playing, I wandered around the lovely centre and had lunch at Le Melody in Rue, St Pierre lovely French /Morrocan style food. Thinking of friends Pat Elsden and Jamna Owen when we ate there together it was more of a creperie then.

Any way back to painting I did do a nocturne on Monday night, this is the entrance to the old Jewish quarter of Pezenas, the part I was staying in, as with all these ancient town quarters it has some horrible history over the centuries. But is now a beautiful quiet area, the nocturne was lit by Christmas lights behind, under the left arch and the street light.

DSC_0627.jpg
Nocturne – Pezenas Watercolour

My last day of this visit yesterday, a stunning morning I went up above the village of Neffies looking across the river valley of l’Orbe to the left and l’Herault to the left, the Mediteranean shining on the horizon.

DSC_0624
Towards the Med – watercolour

You don’t need a truck to go out there and do it, I took very little equipment with me on this trip a hard back Saunders 300gsm Rough Waterford Watercolour paper, my Winsor and Newton Palette of Artist Quality Watercolour a pen and brush. My water pot is a cut down water bottle bought on arrival,

DSC_0623

Having bought a bagnat and almond croissant at the boulangierie, I didn’t need to stop for lunch, I drove down to the coast to a view I never tire of Le Phare at Les Onglous on the Etang du thau near Marseillan. Have painted it many times and this won’t be the last, the light was clear and the view to Sete stunning.

DSC_0626.JPG
Le Phare – Les Onglous 34340 France

Arriving at Vias/ Beziers Airport early, I sheltered from the wind sitting in the car, with the door open and painted the airport, what a pleasing shape.

DSC_0635.JPG

Then on the plane back to Luton and the drive to lovely Norfolk

Leave a Reply

